On this page
- TL;DR
- How I compared them
- Quick comparison
- 1. ChatGPT
- 2. Claude
- 3. Google Gemini
- 4. Microsoft Copilot
- 5. Perplexity
- 6. Motion
- 7. Superhuman
- 8. Saner.ai
- 9. alfred_
- The four with no app at all
- Lindy
- Reclaim.ai
- Fyxer
- Simular Sai
- Check the developer name
- Where Gravity fits
- Which one should you choose?
- FAQ
- Sources
Search for an AI personal assistant app and Google returns five roundups. I read all five on 18 September 2026. Four of them are vendors ranking their own product, and between them they recommend around thirty tools. Not one page tells you which of those tools actually ships a mobile app.
That is the only thing the query asks. You typed app. A product that lives in a browser tab on a laptop is a different purchase from one that sits on your home screen, and you find out which you bought on the first commute.
Deloitte's 2025 Connected Consumer survey, fielded in June 2025 across roughly 3,500 US consumers and released that September, found 37% would upgrade their phone sooner to get embedded AI features. People are buying hardware for this. They deserve to know what installs on it.
So I opened the App Store and Google Play listing for all 13 tools myself, on 18 September 2026. Four have no native app on either platform. One has an App Store page that returns a 404 on three separate storefronts.
Reclaim ranks itself third for calendar work inside its own roundup. Reclaim has no native mobile app. Its page never mentions that.
This page answers the device question only. For the full guide to choosing and setting one up, read the personal AI assistant guide; if the work you want covered is executive and admin workflow, the best AI executive assistant roundup is the closer page.
Thirteen assistants, and which ones you can actually install
- Eight ship on both stores. Claude is the one I would install first for written work, and ChatGPT is the safest general pick.
- iPhone only: alfred_, at $29.99 a month, with no Android app at all.
- No app on either platform: Lindy, Reclaim.ai, Fyxer and Simular Sai.
- Lindy's App Store listing returns a 404 on the US, India and Canada storefronts, all three checked on 18 September 2026.
- Motion ships an app and hedges it. Its own help page calls the mobile app an accompaniment to the desktop app.
- Best free tier outside the big chat apps: Saner.ai at $0, no card, as of September 2026.
- Check the developer, not the title. The Play result for Alfred AI is an unrelated chat wrapper, and Microsoft Copilot has two separate Play listings.
- Gravity, my own product, has no mobile app. It runs in the browser, so it is not the answer to this query.
How I compared them
Five checks, run against every tool on the same day:
- Does a native app exist? I opened the App Store listing and the Google Play listing for each product and recorded the numeric ID or the package name.
- Who publishes it? The developer field, because app titles collide and the developer name is what separates two near-identical entries.
- What does the vendor charge? Read off the vendor's own pricing page, with the billing state noted where the page made it clear and flagged where it did not.
- Is the free tier a plan or a trial? Both get sold with the word free, and they are very different offers.
- What does the vendor say about its own mobile app? Two of them hedge it in their own documentation, which is worth more than a review site's opinion.
For Lindy I did one extra thing. The App Store listing returned a 404, so I tried the US, India and Canada storefronts in turn to check whether it was regional. All three returned 404 on 18 September 2026.
What I did not do is use these products. There was no bake-off, and nothing below claims one tool performs better than another because I tried it. This is a listings-and-pricing audit, and the sources at the end carry every page I read.
If the thing you actually want is the task finished, apply to the alpha and name the job in one line. The first agent is free, no card.
Quick comparison
| Tool | Native iOS | Native Android | Starting price (Sep 2026) | Free tier | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gravity | No | No | Free (Basic); Pro $5/mo in the alpha; Max $20/mo | First agent free | Recurring tasks you want done without you |
| ChatGPT | Yes | Yes | Not verifiable from a geo-neutral source on 18 Sep 2026 | Yes | General questions, voice and camera |
| Claude | Yes | Yes | $17/mo Pro billed annually, $20/mo billed monthly | Yes, forever free | Long documents and writing |
| Google Gemini | Yes | Yes | AI Ultra listed at $100/mo and at $200/mo; lower tiers not verifiable | Yes | Android, Wear OS and Workspace |
| Microsoft Copilot | Yes | Yes, two listings | Microsoft 365 Personal $9.99/mo or $99.99/yr | Yes, limited | Office files on a phone |
| Perplexity | Yes | Yes | Not verifiable from a geo-neutral source on 18 Sep 2026 | Yes | Answers with sources attached |
| Motion | Yes | Yes | $19 per seat/mo Pro AI, billing period not stated | No, 7-day trial | A calendar that reschedules itself |
| Superhuman | Yes | Yes | $25 per member/mo, billed annually | No | Fast email triage |
| Saner.ai | Yes | Yes | From $8 a month | Yes, $0 forever | Capture and recall, ADHD-oriented |
| alfred_ | Yes | No | $29.99/mo individual | No, 7-day trial | Overnight inbox and calendar triage |
| Lindy | Listing returns 404 | No | $29.99 per user/mo Plus, billing period not stated | No, 7-day trial | Desktop-first AI teammate |
| Reclaim.ai | No | No | $10/mo Starter billed annually, $12 monthly | Yes, Lite forever free | Defending calendar time |
| Fyxer | No | No | $22.50/mo Starter billed annually, $30 monthly | No | Email handled inside Gmail or Outlook |
| Simular Sai | No | No | Vendor publishes two conflicting price lists | Listed on one of the two | Driving a desktop computer |
App availability and prices as read on 18 September 2026 from each vendor's own pricing page and from the Apple App Store and Google Play listings. OpenAI's, Perplexity's and Google's consumer pricing pages returned HTTP 403 or served Indian rupees to this machine, so those cells say not verifiable and carry no third-party figure. Prices move; the sources list carries the pages.
1. ChatGPT: the default, and it is on both stores
The iOS listing is ChatGPT, ID 6448311069, published by OpenAI OpCo LLC. On Android it is com.openai.chatgpt. Both are first-party and both were live when I checked.
On a phone it is the most general thing on this page. Voice conversation while you walk, the camera pointed at a broken boiler or a menu in another language, a photo of a form it reads back to you. You ask, it answers, you close it.
I am not printing a price. OpenAI's pricing page returned HTTP 403 to this machine on 18 September 2026 and served Indian rupees on the attempt that got through, and the dollar figures in circulation trace back to third-party pages copying each other. Open the app and read the price on your own account.
- Best for
- One app on your phone for everything: questions, photos, voice, drafting, translation.
- Pricing
- Not verifiable from a geo-neutral source on 18 September 2026. A free tier exists and does not need a card.
- Free tier
- Yes.
- Verdict
- If you install one thing off this page and never think about it again, this is the one.
2. Claude: built for long documents, and the free plan includes the app
Claude by Anthropic, ID 6473753684 on iOS, com.anthropic.claude on Android. Anthropic publishes both.
What it is built around is holding a long thing in its head. A contract, a forty-page report, a thread you have been arguing in for a week. Paste it in, ask about page 31, get an answer that refers to page 31.
The free tier is a real plan. No countdown attached: chat on web, desktop and mobile, web search, file creation, code execution, memory, Artifacts and Skills all sit inside it.
Where the annual discount actually lands
Pro is $17 a month billed annually, which Anthropic collects as $200 up front, or $20 a month if you pay monthly. Max starts at $100 a month and is monthly only, so the discount does not exist at the top of the range. As of September 2026.
Pros
- Native app on both stores, published by Anthropic
- A forever-free plan that includes mobile, memory and web search
- Built for long context: the largest documents of anything on this page
Cons
- The annual rate means $200 leaving your account in one go
- It waits for you to open it; nothing runs on a schedule
- No annual option on Max
Gravity vs Claude covers the split between a chat assistant you drive and an agent that runs the task while you are elsewhere.
3. Google Gemini: the one that replaced your phone's assistant

The iOS listing is Google Gemini, ID 6477489729, and it needs iOS 16 or newer. Android is com.google.android.apps.bard, the old Bard package still carrying the app.
Google began removing Google Assistant from Android phones and Wear OS on 4 September 2026, replacing it with Gemini across phones, tablets, watches and Android Auto, according to the Google-beat reporting that broke the plan (9to5Google, 4 August 2026). Once Assistant is gone from a device you cannot switch back. It survives for now in cars running Google built-in.
On an Android phone this stopped being a choice. It is the assistant button.
The prices Google published, and the ones it did not
I could verify two figures and both were for AI Ultra: $100 a month, and $200 a month reduced from $250. Both figures are here because Google published both. AI Pro and AI Plus I could not confirm from a geo-neutral source on 18 September 2026, so they stay out of the table.
Pros
- Deepest integration with Android, Wear OS and Google Workspace
- Free tier, and it is already on most new Android phones
- Picks up the phone-assistant jobs Assistant used to handle
Cons
- Replacing Assistant is one-way on a given device
- Consumer tier pricing was not readable from here on 18 September 2026
- iOS 16 or newer required
4. Microsoft Copilot: best if the work is already in Office

Get two things right before you install. The iOS app is Microsoft Copilot, ID 541164041, iOS 16 or newer. On Google Play there are two separate Microsoft listings: com.microsoft.copilot, and a second one called Microsoft 365 Copilot with the package com.microsoft.office.officehubrow. Both belong to Microsoft. They are different apps.
On a phone it earns its place when the thing you need is a file you already own. Summarise the deck on the way to the meeting, find the row in the spreadsheet, draft the Outlook reply with the thread as context.
- Best for
- Anyone whose documents live in Microsoft 365 and who wants them usable from a phone.
- Pricing
- Microsoft 365 Personal $9.99 a month or $99.99 a year; Family $12.99 or $129.99; Premium $19.99 or $199.99; Pro $99.99 a month, monthly only. As of September 2026.
- Free tier
- Yes, limited, and Microsoft's own page says it is subject to available capacity. Personal, Family and Premium each carry a one-month trial.
- Verdict
- The consumer pricing page listed exactly four plans on 18 September 2026: Personal, Family, Premium and Pro. Price it against a Microsoft 365 subscription you may already be paying for.
5. Perplexity: answers with the sources attached
Perplexity, ID 1668000334 on iOS, ai.perplexity.app.android on Google Play. Both first-party, both current.
It answers like a search engine that finished the reading for you, with citations under each claim. That matters more on a phone than on a laptop, because you are far less likely to open a second tab and check.
No price here either: the pricing page would not serve me a geo-neutral figure on 18 September 2026. Read it inside the app before you subscribe.
- Best for
- Questions where you want to see where the answer came from before you act on it.
- Pricing
- Not verifiable from a geo-neutral source on 18 September 2026. A free tier exists and does not need a card.
- Free tier
- Yes.
- Verdict
- First-party apps on both stores, citations under each claim, and a price you will have to read on your own account.
Installing the app is the easy part. The personal AI assistant guide covers the harder half: what to hand over first, what to keep, and how to set one up so it is still useful in week three.
6. Motion: a calendar that rebuilds itself every morning

Motion: Tasks & AI Scheduling, package com.usemotion.motion, on both stores. You hand it tasks with deadlines and it lays them into your calendar, then relays them when a meeting drops on top.
Read the vendor's own words about the mobile app
Motion is the one vendor here that hedges its own app in its own documentation. Motion's help centre puts it this way, comma and all: the mobile app is "a streamlined, accompaniment to the web and desktop app" and it "may not provide the same robust experience as the Desktop App." That page does not list which features are thinner, so neither will I. Read it as a signal that the phone is not where Motion expects you to work.
Pros
- Native app on both stores, published by Motion
- Scheduling that reacts to the day as it actually goes
- Tasks, calendar and projects in one place
Cons
- The vendor calls the mobile app an accompaniment to desktop
- No free plan, only a 7-day trial
- Per-seat pricing near the top of this page's range
Pro AI is $19 per seat a month and Business AI is $29 per seat a month, as of September 2026. The page did not make the billing period clear, so treat both as the monthly-equivalent figure and check which one you are being shown before you commit.
7. Superhuman: built for speed, and priced at the top of this page

Superhuman Mail sits on both stores under the package com.superhuman.mail. It is a mail client with AI attached, not an assistant that goes off and does things for you.
The pitch is keyboard-speed triage: split inboxes, snippets, and drafts written in something close to your own phrasing. On mobile the value narrows to a fast mail app with good gestures, which is still worth something if you live in the thing.
- Best for
- People processing a few hundred emails a day who would pay to shave seconds off each one.
- Pricing
- Starter $25 and Business $33 per member a month, both billed annually. As of September 2026.
- Free tier
- None.
- Verdict
- The most expensive way on this page to keep doing your own email. Worth it when email is most of the job.
8. Saner.ai: the free tier that includes the phone
Saner.ai, ID 6738684403 on iOS, com.saner.ai on Android. It is built for people who capture things constantly and then cannot find them again, and it describes that in ADHD terms.
The free plan is why it made the list. Zero dollars, no card, and the mobile app is included: 30 AI messages and 30 AI requests a month, 100 notes, 100MB of storage. Small, but it is a plan, and it does not expire. That makes it the only free route onto a phone here outside the big chat apps.
Paid starts at $8 a month for Starter, with Standard at $16, as of September 2026. The pricing page did not make the billing state unambiguous to me, so treat it as from $8 a month and confirm whether the figure you are shown is the annual rate before you commit.
9. alfred_: the only iPhone-only pick here
alfred_: personal assistant, ID 6797602720, published by Knowledge Butler, Inc. There is no Android app. If you are on Android, skip this one.
The approval step is what you are paying for
The idea is overnight work. It triages the inbox and handles calendar back-and-forth while you sleep, then asks for approval before anything goes out. That step is the part worth paying attention to, because it is the difference between a drafting tool and something you would let email a client.
Pros
- Approval before anything is sent on your behalf
- Works overnight, so the result is waiting at breakfast
Cons
- iPhone only, nothing on Android
- The priciest per-person plan on this page
- No free plan, and the name collides with several unrelated apps
Individual is $29.99 a month; team is $34.99 per seat a month with a two-seat minimum. As of September 2026. The page defaulted to monthly when I read it, an annual toggle exists, and I did not record its rate. The seven days free on offer is a trial, not a free tier.
The four with no app at all
These four turn up in roundups written for an app query. None of them has one. Two of them appear in more than one of the five pages I read.
Lindy: the App Store listing returns a 404

Lindy's App Store listing, ID 6463051845, returned HTTP 404 on the US, India and Canada storefronts when I checked all three on 18 September 2026. I do not know why, and I am not going to guess: a takedown, a migration and a stale ID all look identical from outside. The observable fact is that the page does not load.
There is no Android app either. Searching Google Play for Lindy returns unrelated third-party apps that happen to use the name.
Lindy itself is a capable desktop-first AI teammate for email, meetings and Slack, and it showed up in at least two of the five pages ranking for this app query. Plus is $29.99, Pro $99.99 and Max $199.99 per user a month, with a 7-day trial, as of September 2026. The page did not make the billing period clear, so treat those as the monthly-equivalent figures. Gravity vs Lindy compares the two on the work each one does.
Reclaim.ai lives in your calendar, and only there

No iOS app. No Android app. Reclaim runs in a browser and writes into Google Calendar, which is genuinely how the product is designed: you read its output in whatever calendar app is already on your phone.
That design is defensible. Publishing a roundup for the best AI personal assistant app, ranking yourself third inside it, and never mentioning that you have no app is a separate matter. I read that page on 18 September 2026.
Lite is free forever and carries 5 AI agents, one seat, one calendar sync and a one-week scheduling range. Starter is $10 a month billed annually, $12 billed monthly. As of September 2026.
Fyxer has no app because the output lands in your inbox

No native app on either store. Fyxer's answer to mobile is that the work appears inside the mail app you already use: it drafts and organises in Gmail or Outlook, and you read the result there. In a browser you sign in at app.fyxer.com.
Reasonable design, poor match for someone searching for an app to install. Starter is $22.50 a month billed annually or $30 monthly, and Professional is $37.50 or $50. As of September 2026.
Simular Sai is a desktop product with two price lists
Sai runs on macOS and Windows plus a cloud VM. There is no mobile app, and the product would make little sense as one, because it drives a computer by clicking through interfaces the way a person would.
Its pricing is out of the table on purpose. On 18 September 2026 the vendor published two different price lists on two of its own domains and they do not agree. Picking one and presenting it as the price would be inventing a fact, so ask them before you buy.
Check the developer name before you install
None of the five ranking pages warns about this, and it is the easiest way to end up with the wrong software on your phone.
Search Google Play for Alfred AI and what comes back is com.snrblabs.alfred_mobile, an unrelated multi-model chat wrapper with nothing to do with the assistant in this post. The App Store is busier still. Alongside the one you want it surfaces AI Alfred - Your AI Assistant (ID 6449506743), another app simply called Alfred AI (ID 6755116821), Alfred - AI Meeting Assistant (ID 6759490914), and the long-established macOS launcher Alfred (ID 405843582), which is not an AI product at all.
The assistant this post covers is ID 6797602720, published by Knowledge Butler, Inc. The developer line is the check that works, because titles can be near-identical and developer names cannot.
Microsoft has the same problem from the opposite direction: two genuine Microsoft listings on Google Play under the Copilot name, aimed at different things. Read the developer field, then check which listing the vendor links to from its own site.
Where Gravity fits, and where it does not

My product has no mobile app. It runs in a browser. On the question this page exists to answer, that is a no, and burying it three screens down would make everything above it worthless.
What it does instead is the part none of the apps above do: it runs the task without you sitting there. You describe the job in plain words, an agent an independent builder already made and tested picks it up, and you connect the accounts it needs through an ordinary login. Anything that messages a customer or moves money waits for your approval. A run that fails on a confirmed platform error with no usable output is refunded.
Your first agent is free, no card. After that, Pro is $5 a month during the alpha (Max is $20 a month), and you can buy more usage if you run out. As of September 2026. Gravity is in private alpha, so the catalogue is still short.
If you want something to open on the train, install one of the nine above. If you want the recurring job to stop being yours, what an AI agent actually is is the better starting point, and agent vs chatbot vs assistant draws the line between the two categories.
Which morning job would you hand over first? Name it in one sentence and apply to the alpha to see whether a published agent already covers it.
Which one should you choose?
Half the country is already doing this. Pew Research Center, in Americans and AI 2026, published 17 June 2026 from a survey of 5,119 US adults fielded 17 to 23 February 2026, found 49% use AI chatbots, up from 33% in 2024 and 23% in 2023. Daily use sits at 24%. Whether to install one is settled; which one is the live question.
Start with the phone in your hand. On Android, Gemini is the assistant button now and you did not get a vote, so a second general chat app on top of it is optional. On iPhone, ChatGPT and Claude are the two worth installing first, and if you write for a living, make it Claude.
Want citations under every answer? Perplexity is the one here built around that, and it puts them under each claim.
If the calendar is the problem, Motion is the only tool on this page with a real app for it, and its own documentation points you at the desktop. Reclaim solves a similar problem more cheaply and does it entirely through the calendar app you already have, so the real decision is whether you want a new icon or a rearranged week.
If email is the problem, the split is budget and how much you are willing to hand over. Superhuman makes you faster at your own inbox for $25 a member a month. alfred_ does the triage overnight and asks before sending, on an iPhone only. Fyxer works inside Gmail and Outlook with nothing to install at all.
If money is the constraint, Saner.ai is the only one of the smaller paid tools whose $0 tier includes the mobile app, and the cheapest AI agent platforms covers the wider budget question.
And if none of this fits because you did not want an app, you wanted the work finished, that is a different category with different tools. Best personal AI agents is the roundup for it. Private AI assistants is the one to read if where your data goes is the part keeping you up.
FAQ
What is the best AI personal assistant app?
ChatGPT and Claude are the two general picks; both ship first-party apps on iOS and Android. Pick Claude if you read or write long documents. On Android, Gemini is already installed and is now the system assistant, so it is the default whether you choose it or not.
Which AI assistants have no mobile app?
Lindy, Reclaim.ai, Fyxer and Simular Sai had no native iOS or Android app when I checked on 18 September 2026. Lindy's App Store listing returned a 404 on three storefronts. The other three are web or desktop products by design.
Does Reclaim.ai have an iPhone app?
No. Reclaim runs in a browser and writes into Google Calendar, so its output shows up in whatever calendar app is already on your phone. Its Lite plan is free forever with one seat and one calendar sync, as of September 2026.
Is there a free AI personal assistant app?
Yes, several. ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini and Perplexity all have free tiers with working mobile apps, and Claude's free plan includes web search, memory and Artifacts. Among the smaller tools, Saner.ai's $0 plan includes the mobile app with no card, as of September 2026.
Why are there no prices here for ChatGPT, Perplexity or Google AI Pro?
Because I could not read them from a geo-neutral source. Those pricing pages returned HTTP 403 or served Indian rupees to my machine on 18 September 2026, and the dollar figures in circulation trace back to third-party pages copying each other. Check the price inside the app on your own account.
What happened to Google Assistant on my Android phone?
Google began removing it from 4 September 2026, replacing it with the Gemini app across phones, tablets, Wear OS and Android Auto, per Google-beat reporting published 4 August 2026. Once Assistant is removed from a device you cannot switch back. It still runs in cars with Google built-in.
How do I avoid installing the wrong assistant app?
Read the developer name, not the app name. Searching for Alfred AI on Google Play returns an unrelated chat wrapper, the App Store carries at least four apps with Alfred in the title, and Microsoft Copilot has two separate Play listings. The alfred_ assistant is ID 6797602720 by Knowledge Butler, Inc.
Is an AI assistant app the same as an AI agent?
No. An assistant app waits for you to open it and ask. An agent runs a task on a schedule and comes back only when it needs approval or has finished. Agent vs chatbot vs assistant draws the line, and how agent memory works explains why the second one has to remember things.
Sources
- ChatGPT on the App Store (ID 6448311069) and Google Play, both read 18 September 2026. OpenAI's pricing page returned HTTP 403 and Indian rupees on the same date, so no price is quoted.
- Claude on the App Store (ID 6473753684) and Google Play, plus Anthropic pricing, all read 18 September 2026.
- Google Gemini on the App Store (ID 6477489729) and Google Play, read 18 September 2026. AI Pro and AI Plus prices were not readable from a geo-neutral source on that date.
- Microsoft Copilot on the App Store (ID 541164041), Google Play and the separate Microsoft 365 Copilot Play listing, read 18 September 2026. Microsoft 365 consumer plans and pricing, microsoft.com, read 18 September 2026.
- Perplexity on the App Store (ID 1668000334) and Google Play, read 18 September 2026. Pricing page did not serve a geo-neutral figure.
- Motion on Google Play and Motion pricing, read 18 September 2026. Motion help centre, the article describing the mobile app, read 18 September 2026.
- Superhuman Mail on Google Play and Superhuman pricing, read 18 September 2026.
- Saner.ai on the App Store (ID 6738684403) and Google Play, plus the Saner.ai pricing page, all read 18 September 2026.
- alfred_: personal assistant on the App Store (ID 6797602720, Knowledge Butler, Inc.), plus the alfred_ pricing page, read 18 September 2026. Collision checks against App Store IDs 6449506743, 6755116821, 6759490914 and 405843582, and Google Play package com.snrblabs.alfred_mobile, same date.
- Lindy App Store listing (ID 6463051845), which returned HTTP 404 on the US, India and Canada storefronts, all three checked 18 September 2026. Lindy pricing, read the same day.
- Reclaim.ai pricing, read 18 September 2026, plus Reclaim's own AI assistant roundup, read the same day.
- Fyxer pricing page, fyxer.com, read 18 September 2026.
- Simular pricing, published on both sai.work and simular.ai, read 18 September 2026. The two pages listed different prices.
- 9to5Google, reporting on the Google Assistant to Gemini transition beginning 4 September 2026, published 4 August 2026, read 18 September 2026. No deep link is given here because I did not record the article URL.
- Deloitte, 2025 Connected Consumer Survey, fielded June 2025 across approximately 3,500 US consumers, released September 2025. Read 18 September 2026. The 37% figure is the share saying they would upgrade their phone sooner for embedded AI features.
- Pew Research Center, Americans and AI 2026, published 17 June 2026, fielded 17 to 23 February 2026, n=5,119 US adults, US national sample. Read 18 September 2026.
- Gravity pricing, September 2026.