On this page
Search for an AI agent for social media and what comes back is schedulers. Every serious tool in this category now ships something with AI in the name, and most of it writes the caption you were going to write anyway.
On 21 September 2026 I read six vendors' pricing pages end to end: Buffer, Metricool, SocialBee, Later, Hootsuite and Sprout Social. I have not run these tools. What I did was read what each company says its AI does, in its own words, on the page where it asks you for money.
That reading is the whole post. Generating a caption and recommending a posting time is help with the work. An agent does the work and tells you afterwards. The feature names these vendors chose for themselves are a better guide to which one you are buying than anything in the headline above them.
One number in the set settles the argument faster than a paragraph can. Later meters its AI in credits and gives its entry plan five of them a month.
Five. A month.
Prices below are what each page rendered for me on 21 September 2026, in the currency and the billing state it chose to show. Two of them were running a discount. One would not show a number at all.
Seven AI social media tools, one line each
- Free, with the AI actually included: Buffer. AI Assistant sits on the free forever plan. Paid pricing is per channel, so five channels on Essentials is $25 a month rather than $5.
- The only one that publishes an MCP server: Metricool, which lists "Metricool MCP" on its free plan alongside an "AI social media assistant".
- Cheapest unlimited generation of the six: SocialBee at $24.20 a month billed annually.
- Read the meter before the headline: Later Starter includes "AI content tools (5 AI credits /month)". That is the whole monthly allowance.
- The loudest autonomy claims, and no price: Hootsuite, whose Professional plan claims it will "Automate inbox replies and workflows". Its plans page showed me no number and no currency.
- The deepest suite and the steepest bill: Sprout Social, where the "Trellis AI agent" appears on the $199 per seat a month tier.
- You want the task finished, not the caption written: Gravity. First agent free, no card, then Pro at $5 a month during the alpha. It is a general-purpose platform, while the six tools above it were built for social media specifically.

How I compared them
Every tool on this page went through the same five questions. They sort the category faster than a feature grid does:
- What does the vendor call its AI? The feature name printed on the pricing page, which is a more careful piece of writing than the homepage headline.
- Is the AI metered, and how? Unlimited, a published credit count, or unstated. Only one vendor here publishes a count.
- What does a plan cost to start, in what currency, and in which billing state? Annual and monthly toggles, geo currency switches and live promotions all changed what I was shown.
- What is the unit the price multiplies by? Per channel, per seat, per brand, per social set. Four different units across six vendors, and the unit decides your bill more often than the sticker does.
- Does the free tier, if there is one, include the AI? Two of the six do.
Now the honest limit on all of it. I read pricing pages and the feature descriptions printed on them, on one day, on one machine. I have not run these products, I have not watched an agent take an action inside any of them, and a pricing page that says nothing about autonomous posting is not evidence that the product cannot post autonomously. It is evidence that the company did not choose to sell me on that.
Where a vendor does claim autonomy, I quote the claim and leave it standing as theirs.
There is a shorter route than reading seven sections. Name the task you actually want off your desk in one sentence and see whether a published agent already covers it. Apply to the alpha. The first agent is free and no card is asked for.
What the vendors actually call their AI
Here are the six feature names, copied off the pricing pages on 21 September 2026 and nowhere else:
- Buffer: "AI Assistant", listed as a plan feature and included on the free tier.
- Metricool: an "AI social media assistant", plus "Metricool MCP", both on the free plan.
- SocialBee: "unlimited AI content generation", listed on the Bootstrap plan.
- Later: "AI content tools", followed in the same line by a credit count.
- Hootsuite: "Wisdom, your AI teammate", described as "One AI brain in every plan that drafts, recommends, and analyzes".
- Sprout Social: "Trellis, your AI teammate" on Essentials, a "Trellis AI agent" on Standard, then "Enhance Post by AI Assist" on Professional and "Enhance Reply by AI Assist" on Advanced.
Read that list as a group and the shape of the category shows up. Assistant, tools, generation, teammate, enhance. Drafting, recommending and analysing all describe help with a job you are still doing yourself, and the vendors picked those verbs carefully.
Two items break the pattern and deserve credit for it. Hootsuite's Professional tier claims it will "Automate inbox replies and workflows" and "Forecast social trends up to 90 days ahead", and Advanced claims it will "Assign and auto-route messages to the right team members". Those are the strongest agent-shaped claims on any page I read, they describe the software taking an action, and they are Hootsuite's words rather than mine.
The second is Metricool's MCP server. MCP is a standard interface an AI agent can call, and Metricool is the only vendor in this set that lists one on a plan. What the plan card does not do is describe what that interface exposes.
My reading, offered as a reading: most of what these six vendors market as a social media agent is a scheduler with a writing assistant attached, and their own feature names say so more plainly than their homepages do. If you want the background on where the line actually falls, what is an AI agent works through it.
Quick comparison
| Tool | What the vendor calls its AI | What the pricing page describes | Starting price (as of September 2026) | Free tier | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Buffer | "AI Assistant" | Scheduler with AI captions | $5 per month per channel, Essentials, yearly rate | Yes, free forever, AI Assistant included | Three channels and no budget |
| Metricool | "AI social media assistant" plus "Metricool MCP" | Scheduler; the only page here listing an MCP server | From EUR 16 a month, Starter, annual tab (the page served euro) | Yes, 1 brand and 20 posts a month, AI included | Analytics-led posting, and anyone shopping for a published MCP interface |
| SocialBee | "Unlimited AI content generation" | Scheduler with unmetered caption generation | $24.20 a month, Bootstrap, billed annually | No, 14-day free trial | High caption volume on a small budget |
| Later | "AI content tools (5 AI credits /month)" | Scheduler, AI metered in credits | $18.75 a month, Starter, billed yearly, promotional rate | Not listed on the plans page I read | A generous posting allowance with occasional AI help |
| Hootsuite | "Wisdom, your AI teammate" | Claims the most action here: "Automate inbox replies and workflows" | No price rendered on the plans page on 21 September 2026 | No, 14-day trial with no credit card | Teams that buy software through a demo |
| Sprout Social | "Trellis AI agent", then "Enhance Post by AI Assist" | Scheduler and social inbox with AI assist, one named agent | $79 per seat per month, Essentials, annual billing | No, 30-day free trial, no credit card | Larger teams that need monitoring and reviews |
| Gravity | No social AI feature; general-purpose agents | The agent runs the task, you approve what it sends | First agent free, then Pro $5 a month during the alpha; Max $20 a month | Yes, first agent free, no card | A recurring task you want finished |
Every figure is what the vendor's own page rendered on 21 September 2026. Buffer, Later, SocialBee and Metricool were showing their annual or yearly state. Later's page carried a "3 months free | 25% off" promotion that day, so its two prices are discounted. Metricool's page offers an EUR / USD switch and served EUR to this machine, so those figures are not converted. Hootsuite printed neither a number nor a currency. Sprout Social prints a monthly alternative for Essentials only, at $99 per seat a month.
Where the AI sits, and what meters it
The second table is the one I would actually read before buying. It strips out everything except the AI feature and the thing that limits it.
| Tool | The vendor's name for it | Metered how | On the free tier? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Buffer | AI Assistant | No meter stated on the page I read | Yes |
| Metricool | AI social media assistant, Metricool MCP | No meter stated on the page I read | Yes |
| SocialBee | Unlimited AI content generation | Explicitly unlimited | No free tier, 14-day trial |
| Later | AI content tools | 5 AI credits a month on Starter, 50 on Growth | Not listed on the plans I read |
| Hootsuite | Wisdom, your AI teammate | Not stated. "One AI brain in every plan" | No, a 14-day trial with no card |
| Sprout Social | Trellis, Enhance Post and Enhance Reply by AI Assist | Not stated; gated by plan tier instead | No, a 30-day trial |
| Gravity | No caption feature to meter | Flat plan with a lot of usage included; buy more usage if you run out | Yes, first agent free, no card |
Two rows in that table are doing all the work. SocialBee publishes an unlimited allowance and Later publishes a count. Everyone else declined to say.
Silence is not the same as generosity. A vendor that publishes no meter may be giving you plenty or may be rate-limiting you quietly, and the page will not tell you which. Later took the reputational hit of printing a small number, and printing a small number is how a buyer finds out what these features are sized for.
If queueing and timing is the specific job you want to hand over, AI agents for social media scheduling covers that narrower question: what can genuinely go out without a person watching, and what still needs one.
1. Buffer: the free tier that really does include the AI
Buffer is the only tool in this set with a free forever plan that carries its AI feature. Up to 3 channels, 10 scheduled posts per channel, 100 ideas, one user, AI Assistant, and API access with one key and 3,000 requests a month. No card.
Then read the paid plans twice, because the unit is the channel and not the account. Essentials is $5 per month per channel at the yearly rate, which the page states as "1 channel, $60 billed yearly (save 2 months)". Five channels is therefore $25 a month, because the $5 on the card buys one channel. Team is $10 per month per channel, so those same five channels cost $50, and what the extra buys is unlimited team members plus 5 API keys and 15,000 requests a month.
That multiplication is the single most useful correction I can offer about Buffer's pricing. Every other vendor here counts profiles or brands inside a plan price. Buffer counts them outside it.
On the AI, Buffer is refreshingly unambitious. "AI Assistant" is the entire name, the page makes no claim that it runs your account, and the price it charges for that help on the free plan is nothing.
What the per-channel price does to a real account
Count your channels before you compare anything. A solo operator posting to Instagram, LinkedIn and X sits at $15 a month on Essentials, which is under Later's Starter at $18.75, a promotional rate on the day I read it, and under SocialBee's Bootstrap at $24.20. Add TikTok, Facebook and Pinterest and the same plan is $30 a month, and Buffer has quietly stopped being the cheap option.
Pros
- Free forever, and the AI Assistant is on it
- Unlimited scheduled posts on Essentials
- API access on every tier, including 3,000 requests a month on free
- 14-day free trial on Essentials
Cons
- Priced per channel, so the bill grows with every account you add
- The free plan stops at 10 scheduled posts per channel
- The AI is called an assistant and behaves like the name
- Best for
- Someone running three channels who wants scheduling and caption help and would rather not pay for either.
- Pricing
- Free forever. Essentials $5 per month per channel and Team $10 per month per channel, both at the yearly rate. As of September 2026.
- Free tier
- Yes, 3 channels with AI Assistant included.
- Verdict
- The honest budget pick, as long as you do the multiplication before you sign up.
2. Metricool: the only one shipping an MCP server
Metricool's free plan lists an "AI social media assistant" and "Metricool MCP" side by side. With it you get one brand, up to 20 scheduled posts a month, five competitor profiles to analyse, and 30 days of analytics history, at EUR 0 a month.
That MCP line is the most interesting thing on any pricing page in this comparison. An MCP server is a standard interface an AI agent can call. What the plan card establishes is that Metricool publishes one, not what it lets an agent do; the page does not say.
Read the currency before you read the number. The page carries an explicit EUR / USD switch and served euro to my machine: Free at EUR 0 a month, Starter from EUR 16 a month for up to 10 brands with unlimited content publishing. I have not converted those, because the page that opens for you may not be the page that opened for me.
Why the MCP line matters more than the assistant line
Every other vendor on this page has decided for you where the AI goes and what it is allowed to touch. Metricool published an interface and left the decision with you. If there is already an agent doing work in your business, this is the only social tool on the page that publishes an interface for it at all, and that is a different kind of purchase from buying a caption button.
Free is genuinely free here: one brand, 20 posts a month, the assistant and the MCP server. Starter began at EUR 16 a month on the annual tab when I read it in September 2026 and lifts you to ten brands with unlimited publishing. It suits an analytics-led operator who tracks competitors closely, and it is the page to check if a published interface matters to you.
3. SocialBee: unlimited generation on the entry plan
SocialBee's Bootstrap plan says "unlimited AI content generation" and costs $24.20 a month billed annually. That covers 5 social profiles, one user, one workspace and three months of analytics.
Put Bootstrap next to Later's Starter and the contrast makes the argument for me. SocialBee's generation is unmetered and costs about $5 more at the prices I read on 21 September 2026, one of which was carrying a promotion. If caption volume is the thing slowing you down, this is the cheapest way on the page to stop counting.
The ladder above it is straightforward. Accelerate is $40.80 a month for 10 profiles, advanced analytics, a hashtag organiser, post approval and two years of history. Pro is $82.50 for 25 profiles, three users per workspace and five workspaces, with analytics export and internal notes. Both are billed annually and both were read in September 2026. SocialBee's own header also offers a 14-day free trial, no contracts, and a 30-day money-back guarantee.
One note on those cents, because they matter. SocialBee renders each price with the cents in a separate element, so what is on screen is $24.20 rather than $24. I have carried the cents instead of rounding, since rounding down is how a comparison post starts telling small lies.
Unlimited volume, and the question it leaves open
Unlimited is a promise about how much, and it says nothing about who decides. The plan description tells me SocialBee will write as many posts as I ask it for. It does not tell me the software will work out what this week should be about, or notice that the last three posts landed badly and change course. Volume was never the expensive part of running a social account.
Bootstrap is $24.20 a month billed annually, Accelerate $40.80 and Pro $82.50, all as of September 2026, with no free tier behind them and only the 14-day trial. Take it if your bottleneck is writing forty captions a week. If you are a one-person content operation rather than a brand team, AI agents for content creators asks the same question from your side of it.
Buying this for five clients instead of one? The arithmetic changes shape, because per-channel and per-seat pricing both multiply and they multiply against different things. AI agents for marketing agencies works through what that does to a client roster.
4. Later: the one vendor that prices its AI, and the number is five
Later is the only company in this comparison that puts a figure on its AI feature, and I am grateful to them for it. Starter is $18.75 USD a month billed yearly, and the feature line reads "AI content tools (5 AI credits /month)". The plan also carries one social set of 8 profiles, one user, 30 posts per profile and three months of analytics.
Five credits is roughly one AI action per working week, and the page does not say what happens when they run out.
Growth doubles the money and multiplies the credits by ten: $37.50 USD a month for 50 AI credits, two social sets covering 16 profiles, two users, 180 posts per profile, a social inbox, "Smart Scheduling with Future Trends" and a year of analytics. Extra social sets are an add-on, shown at $11.25 on Growth.
Both of those prices came with a discount attached. The page rendered its yearly state under a "3 months free | 25% off" banner on 21 September 2026, so treat $18.75 and $37.50 as the promotional rate on that day and check the page yourself before you put either into a budget.
Five credits is the most honest number in this comparison
Any vendor here could have published a meter. Five of the six chose not to. Later published one, and what it reveals is the size of an AI feature relative to the job it is being sold against. A tool whose second tier allows 50 AI actions a month is a scheduler with a writing assistant attached, and that is a completely reasonable thing to buy.
Later comes out of this better than the vendors who stayed quiet, because it printed the thing the others left off their pages. Buy it knowing what it is and the number stops being a problem.
Pros
- The only plans page in this set that publishes an AI meter
- A social set is 8 profiles, which is kinder than paying per channel
- Growth's 180 posts per profile is a lot of runway for two people
- Smart Scheduling with Future Trends on Growth
Cons
- Starter's 5 AI credits a month is a token allowance
- The prices I read were carrying a promotion, so they will move
- Extra social sets are $11.25 on top of the plan
- The plans page I read listed no free tier
- Best for
- A small brand that wants a generous posting allowance and treats the AI as an occasional helper.
- Pricing
- Starter $18.75 and Growth $37.50 USD a month, billed yearly, as rendered under a "3 months free | 25% off" promotion on 21 September 2026.
- Free tier
- Not listed on the plans page I read.
- Verdict
- The clearest pricing in the set, and the clearest evidence of what these AI features are actually sized to do.
Three of these pages will not hand you a stable number: a live promotion on one, a currency switch on another, a blank where the figure should have been on a third. If price is the axis you are buying on, the cheapest AI agent platforms keeps a dated list across the wider category.
5. Hootsuite: the biggest claims, and no price on the page
Hootsuite makes the strongest autonomy claims of any vendor in this comparison, and it is the only one that would not show me a number.
The plan cards on its plans page read "per monthper user/month" with the figure missing, and the footnote reads "Prices displayed in , based on annual billing, but do not include applicable taxes", with the currency slot empty. Standard, Professional, Advanced and Enterprise are all named. Enterprise is "Custom" behind a demo request. That is what the page gave me on 21 September 2026, and I am reporting it rather than substituting a figure from a review site, because a vendor declining to publish a price is itself information about the buying process you are walking into.
What the page does say about AI is the part worth your attention. "Every plan runs on Wisdom, your AI teammate. One AI brain in every plan that drafts, recommends, and analyzes." Drafts, recommends, analyzes is Hootsuite's own verb list, and all three verbs stop just short of doing.
Then the plan tiers go further than any other page here. Professional claims it will "Automate inbox replies and workflows" and "Forecast social trends up to 90 days ahead". Advanced claims it will "Assign and auto-route messages to the right team members". Automating an inbox reply is an action. Auto-routing a message is an action. If you want a tool that does something without being asked each time, these are the claims to take into the sales call and press on.
The trial has limits the pricing page never got to
The trial has a shape even where the price does not: 14 days, no credit card, cancel anytime, no commitment. Trial accounts carry daily posting limits of 10 to 20 posts per organisation depending on plan, and bulk scheduling is switched off for the duration. Worth knowing before you plan your evaluation around a busy launch week, because the constraint will distort exactly the test you were trying to run.
Pros
- The strongest action-taking claims in this comparison, in the vendor's own words
- AI on every plan rather than gated to the top tier
- 14-day trial with no credit card and no commitment
- Four tiers, so an enterprise buyer has somewhere to land
Cons
- No price rendered on the plans page I read, and no currency either
- Enterprise pricing is a demo request
- Trial accounts are capped at 10 to 20 posts a day per organisation
- Bulk scheduling is unavailable during the trial
Pricing as of September 2026: I could not read one. Free tier: none, only the 14-day trial. It fits an organisation where a sales call is a normal part of buying software. If you need the number before the call, start somewhere else on this page.
6. Sprout Social: the deepest suite, priced per seat
Sprout Social is the most expensive option here by a wide margin, and it is priced per seat, which is how the total climbs so fast. Essentials is $79 per seat per month on annual billing, and the page also prints $99 per seat a month billed monthly. Standard is $199, Professional $299 and Advanced $399, all per seat per month. Enterprise is a custom quote behind a demo, and the header offers a 30-day free trial with no credit card.
Essentials is the only plan where both billing states appear. For Standard, Professional and Advanced the header says "Annual billing" and no monthly alternative is printed, so I will not guess at what those three cost month to month.
The AI vocabulary walks up the ladder alongside the price. Essentials calls it "Trellis, your AI teammate" and adds optimal send times across 5 social profiles. Standard names a "Trellis AI agent" and brings a consolidated inbox, keyword and location monitoring and review management. Professional adds unlimited profiles, message tagging and "Enhance Post by AI Assist". Advanced adds "Enhance Reply by AI Assist", sentiment in the Smart Inbox and Reviews, and the Sprout API.
Read those four names in order: teammate, agent, enhance post, enhance reply. The word agent appears once, at $199 per seat a month, and the two features described in the most detail above it are both called Enhance, which means improving something you already wrote. That is Sprout's own vocabulary and I think it tells you where the product's centre of gravity sits.
Where the seat count decides this
Three people on Standard is $597 a month before anybody has posted anything. The same three on SocialBee Pro is $82.50 a month, on prices read the same day. Sprout earns a good deal of that gap on monitoring, reviews and inbox depth, and very little of it on the AI, so a small team should be clear-eyed about which half it is actually buying.
- Best for
- A marketing team with an existing social budget that needs monitoring, reviews and a shared inbox more than it needs captions.
- Pricing
- Essentials $79 per seat a month on annual billing, or $99 billed monthly. Standard $199, Professional $299 and Advanced $399 per seat a month. Enterprise custom. As of September 2026.
- Free tier
- None. A 30-day free trial, no credit card.
- Verdict
- The most capable suite on this page and the most expensive by a distance, with the word agent attached to exactly one tier of it.
One vendor here publishes a number for its AI and five do not. Gravity does not sell AI actions at all: the first agent is free with no card, then Pro is $5 a month during the alpha. Apply to the alpha.
7. Gravity: when the task is the thing you want back
This is my product, so weigh what follows accordingly. It sits last on the page for a reason: the six tools above it were built for social media, and this one was built for general-purpose work.
Gravity is a general-purpose AI agent platform. You describe a task in plain words, an agent that an independent builder already made and tested runs it, and the result comes back to you. There is no publishing queue here, no content calendar, no caption feature, and I am not going to imply otherwise while a Sprout Social seat price sits four paragraphs above this one.
Where it fits the person reading this page is the work that surrounds the posting. The weekly report that pulls numbers out of three different places. The inbox triage. The client summary nobody assembles until Friday afternoon. Those are usually the jobs eating the hours you wanted to spend on the content itself, and none of the six tools above is aimed at them.
Anything that messages a customer waits for your approval before it goes. A run that fails on a platform error, with no usable output, is refunded under the refund policy.
Who does the work once you have set it up
Every tool above hands you a better place to do the work yourself. Gravity hands you a finished worker, and the builder who wrote it is the person responsible for keeping it running. Whether that trade is worth anything to you comes down to one question: is the job you want back a social media job, or is it the admin wrapped around it?
Pros
- Nothing to build, configure or maintain
- The first agent is free and no card is asked for
- Customer-facing steps pause for your approval
- One flat price rather than a caption meter
Cons
- No social media publishing product, so it does not replace a scheduler
- In private alpha, so the catalogue is short and you apply rather than sign up
- The wrong choice if what you need is a content calendar
- Best for
- The recurring task sitting underneath your social work that nobody volunteers for on a Friday.
- Pricing
- First agent free, no card. Then Pro at $5 a month during the alpha, or Max at $20 a month for more agents and usage. Buy more usage if you run out. As of September 2026.
- Free tier
- Yes, your first agent, no card.
- Verdict
- Gravity is in private alpha, so you apply for access. Right choice when the job has an outcome attached to it, wrong choice when the job is a posting schedule.
Which one should you choose?
Start with the question underneath all of this: do you want help writing, or do you want the job done? Almost everybody shopping in this category is going to buy help writing, and there is nothing wrong with that as long as nobody sold it to you as something else.
When the budget is zero, Buffer and Metricool are the answer, because they are the only two of the six that put an AI feature on a free plan. If the bottleneck is caption volume instead of money, SocialBee's unlimited generation at $24.20 a month billed annually is the cheapest way to stop rationing.
A large posting allowance with the AI as a bonus points at Later's Growth plan, $37.50 a month for 180 posts per profile, though the promotion it carried in September 2026 may not survive to the day you read this.
Already running your own agent? Metricool is the only tool on this page that publishes an MCP server at all.
When you need monitoring, reviews and a shared inbox across a real team, Sprout Social is the deepest suite here, and reaching the tier that names an agent costs $199 per seat a month. Hootsuite belongs in the same conversation if your organisation buys software through a demo anyway, because it makes the loudest claims about taking action and will give you the price on the call.
My own bias, stated plainly: for the recurring task sitting under the social work, I would pick the option where nobody builds anything and nobody writes a prompt every morning. That is Gravity, the first agent is free, and because the product is in private alpha you apply for access. If you are pricing the wider agent category rather than social tools specifically, the cheapest AI agent platforms covers it, and the best workflow automation tools covers the build-it-yourself route.
Whichever you pick, read the unit before the sticker. Per channel, per seat, per brand, per social set, per AI credit: five different meters on one page, and the meter decides your invoice far more often than the headline price does.
FAQ
What is an AI agent for social media?
It is software that takes a social media job, decides what to do next, and either completes it or hands you a draft to approve. That is a different thing from the AI feature most social tools ship, which writes a caption or recommends a posting time when you press a button. On the six vendor pages I read on 21 September 2026 the feature names were "AI Assistant", "AI social media assistant", "unlimited AI content generation", "AI content tools", "Wisdom, your AI teammate" and "Trellis AI agent".
Which social media tools include AI on a free plan?
Buffer and Metricool, and they were the only two of the six I read on 21 September 2026. Buffer's free forever plan covers up to 3 channels, 10 scheduled posts per channel and one user, with AI Assistant included. Metricool's free plan covers one brand and up to 20 scheduled posts a month, and lists both an "AI social media assistant" and "Metricool MCP".
How much AI does Later actually include?
Five AI credits a month on Starter and 50 on Growth, as the plans page rendered them on 21 September 2026. Starter was $18.75 a month billed yearly and Growth was $37.50, both carrying a "3 months free | 25% off" promotion that day. Later is the only vendor in this comparison that publishes a number for its AI at all.
Why is there no Hootsuite price in this comparison?
Because Hootsuite's plans page did not render one on 21 September 2026. The plan cards read "per monthper user/month" with the number missing, and the footnote's currency slot was empty. I would rather report that than copy a figure off a review site and present it to you as the vendor's price.
Can an AI agent post to LinkedIn for me without approval?
None of the six pricing pages I read on 21 September 2026 promised unattended publishing to a named network. Hootsuite came closest, claiming on Professional that it will "Automate inbox replies and workflows" and on Advanced that it will "Assign and auto-route messages to the right team members". Auto-routing messages and automating inbox replies are inbox claims. "And workflows" is not defined anywhere on the page I read, so I cannot tell you what it covers. Both are the vendor's own wording.
For the narrower question of what can be automated on one network, see AI agents for LinkedIn content.
Is a cheap tool enough if I only run three channels?
Usually, and Buffer makes the arithmetic easy. Essentials is $5 per month per channel at the yearly rate, so three channels is $15 a month, which sits under Later's Starter at $18.75, a promotional rate on the day I read it, and under SocialBee's Bootstrap at $24.20. Buffer's free plan also covers three channels with AI Assistant, if 10 scheduled posts per channel is enough for you.
Do I need a workflow builder as well as a social tool?
Only when the work crosses systems the social tool does not reach. A scheduler runs the calendar and the inbox. It will not pull last month's numbers out of your billing system and turn them into the report your client expects. If that is the gap you are trying to close, a workflow builder or a general-purpose agent is the thing that closes it.
Does Gravity replace a social media scheduler?
No. Gravity is a general-purpose AI agent platform and it does not ship a social media publishing product, so if what you need is a posting queue and a content calendar, buy one of the six tools above. Gravity fits the recurring work around the content: the weekly report, the inbox triage, the document somebody assembles every Friday. The first agent is free with no card, then Pro is $5 a month during the alpha.
Sources
- Buffer pricing, read 21 September 2026. Yearly-billed state; pricing is stated per channel.
- Metricool pricing, read 21 September 2026. Annual tab; the page's EUR / USD switch served EUR.
- SocialBee pricing, read 21 September 2026. Yearly state, marked "Yearly (16% off)".
- Later pricing, read 21 September 2026. Yearly state, carrying a "3 months free | 25% off" promotion.
- Hootsuite plans, read 21 September 2026. No price and no currency rendered on the page.
- Sprout Social pricing, read 21 September 2026. Annual billing; a monthly rate is printed for Essentials only.
- Gravity pricing, stated by Gravity, September 2026: first agent free with no card, then Pro at $5 a month during the alpha, with. Gravity is in private alpha.
