On this page
An AI legal assistant is software that takes on part of a lawyer's work. It answers a legal question with citations, drafts a memo or a clause, reviews a contract, or prepares discovery requests and responses. Some are standalone research tools, some run inside Microsoft Word, and some live inside the practice-management software that already holds a firm's matters and bills. You will also see the same idea sold as an AI paralegal.
Buying one is harder than it should be. The first page of Google for this term is mostly definitions and vendor blog posts, and almost nobody puts a price next to a name. Two of the best-known names, Harvey and Spellbook, publish none at all.
So I priced them myself. I read six pricing pages and Harvey's homepage on 5 October 2026 and worked out what a three-lawyer firm would pay for a year on each. As of October 2026 the published range runs from $3,600 to $17,964. Spellbook and Harvey publish no price, and Clio's pricing page showed none for Clio Work.
One thing up front: I am not a lawyer. I run an AI agent platform. This post judges price, packaging and fit for a small firm. Whether a tool's research holds up in front of a judge is a call only the lawyer using it can make.
Want to know what AI can do across a lawyer's whole day, intake and deadlines included? That question has its own answer in AI agents for lawyers. This page is for the firm shopping for the tool.
The short version
- Cheapest AI for three lawyers: MyCase Pro, $3,600 a year on annual billing as of October 2026. The writing assistant comes inside the practice-management plan.
- Discovery only: Briefpoint, $5,400 for three attorneys on its flat annual plan.
- Research and drafting is a tie. StrongSuit ($8,964) and Paxton on annual billing ($8,997) land $33 apart.
- Paxton on monthly billing costs $17,964. Almost exactly twice its annual price for the same three seats.
- Contracts in Word: Spellbook. No published price; start with the 7-day trial.
- Large firm or in-house team: Harvey. Demo only.
- Already on Clio: ask what Clio Work costs, because the pricing page did not show it.
- Whatever you buy, a lawyer checks every citation before it goes into a filing.
How I compared them
Every tool got the same five questions, answered from its own pricing page as I read it on 5 October 2026 (Harvey has none, so its homepage):
- What kind of assistant is it? The label covers four different products, sorted below.
- What is the cheapest published plan that includes the AI? Per attorney, as of October 2026. Practice software counts only from the tier that lists an AI assistant.
- What do three attorneys pay in a year? Three is my stand-in for a small firm, on annual billing where offered.
- Can you try it first, and does the trial want a card?
- What does the page promise about your data? Only where the vendor states it, such as SOC 2 Type II.
What I did not do matters as much. I opened no accounts, ran no research queries and drafted nothing, so there is no accuracy score here. It is published pricing plus arithmetic you can rerun for your own headcount, the same habit behind my list of the cheapest AI agent platforms.
Two well-known names are missing on purpose. CoCounsel (Thomson Reuters) and Lexis+ AI (LexisNexis) are sold through the publisher's sales team, and I could not find a list price on the product pages I checked. Gravity is missing too. It is not a legal assistant, and it does no legal research.
Four different products sell under the same name
- Research and drafting assistants. Ask a legal question, get an answer with citations, then a memo or a first draft. Paxton, StrongSuit and Harvey sell this kind.
- Contract assistants inside Word. Review, redline and draft clauses without leaving the document. That is Spellbook.
- Litigation workflow assistants. One painful task, done end to end. Briefpoint does discovery.
- AI inside practice-management software. The assistant sits where the matters, documents and bills already live: MyCase with its 8am IQ assistants, and Clio.
Pick the kind before the brand. A contract tool is built for contracts, not discovery responses, and a research tool will not keep your billing straight.
Quick comparison
| Tool | Kind | Who it is for | Starting price (as of October 2026) | Free trial | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Paxton | Research and drafting | Litigation teams, from a single lawyer up | $499 per user a month, or $2,999 per user a year | 7 days | Cited research and first drafts |
| StrongSuit | Research and drafting | Individual lawyers; firms on a custom quote | $249 a month (Individual) | Yes | Research, with a Microsoft Word integration |
| Briefpoint | Litigation workflow | Litigators who draft written discovery | $150 per attorney a month, billed annually | Not stated; demo | Propounding and answering discovery |
| MyCase | AI inside practice management | Small firms running matters and billing in one system | $100 per user a month on Pro, billed annually (first plan with AI) | Yes, no card | AI where the matters already live |
| Clio | AI inside practice management | Firms already on Clio Manage | From $49 per user a month (Starter); Clio Work not published | Yes | Firms already running on Clio |
| Spellbook | Contracts inside Word | Transactional lawyers and legal teams | Not published; demo | 7 days | Contract review and redlining |
| Harvey | Enterprise research and drafting | Large firms and in-house teams | Not published; demo | No; demo only | Big-firm and in-house work |
Starting prices in USD from each vendor's own pricing page, read 5 October 2026. Clio's $49 buys Starter, the entry Clio Manage plan; the plan Clio calls "AI-first" is Core, which showed no price when I read the page. Gravity has no row because it is not a legal assistant.
What a three-lawyer firm pays in a year
Here is the cheapest published way for three attorneys to get each kind of assistant for twelve months. Where a vendor publishes nothing, the row says so.
| Tool | Kind | Plan | Per attorney | 3 attorneys, 1 year |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| MyCase Pro | AI inside practice management | Annual | $100 a month | $3,600 |
| MyCase Advanced | Adds case and discovery assistants | Annual | $130 a month | $4,680 |
| Briefpoint | Discovery only | Annual | $1,800 a year | $5,400 |
| StrongSuit | Research and drafting | Monthly | $249 a month | $8,964 |
| Paxton | Research and drafting | Annual | $2,999 a year | $8,997 |
| Paxton | Research and drafting | Monthly | $499 a month | $17,964 |
| Spellbook | Contracts in Word | Demo only | Not published | Quote |
| Harvey | Enterprise research and drafting | Demo only | Not published | Quote |
| Clio Work | AI workspace | Not on the page | Not published | Ask Clio |
As of 5 October 2026, from each vendor's own pricing page, in USD. Annual billing where offered. StrongSuit's Individual plan is quoted per month, and Paxton is shown both ways. Gravity is not in this table because it is not a legal assistant.
The working, so you can check it:
- MyCase Pro, $3,600. 3 x $100 x 12.
- MyCase Advanced, $4,680. 3 x $130 x 12. The extra $1,080 a year buys the Case Assistant and the Discovery Assistant.
- Briefpoint, $5,400. 3 x $1,800, the annual Rainmaker price per attorney.
- StrongSuit, $8,964. 3 x $249 x 12, an estimate built from three Individual plans; the Firm quote may come in higher or lower (see the StrongSuit section).
- Paxton annual, $8,997. 3 x $2,999.
- Paxton monthly, $17,964. 3 x $499 x 12.
Three things in that table deserve a second look
The two research tools are a dead heat. StrongSuit on monthly billing and Paxton on annual billing land $33 apart for three lawyers. Paxton on monthly billing costs almost exactly twice its annual price, which matches the "Save 50% compared to monthly" line on its own page. For the same three seats, annual billing roughly halves the bill.
The cheapest AI in the table comes bundled into software a firm may already pay for. On MyCase Pro, the 8am IQ Writing and Document Assistant is inside a bill a firm already on Pro is paying anyway.
And some of the best-known names publish nothing. Spellbook and Harvey sell by demo, and Clio's pricing page showed no figure for Clio Work. For a small firm that is a buying signal in itself: shortlist the tools with a price on the page, run their trials, and book a demo only when those have let you down.
Must read: these figures are one day's reading of six pricing pages and Harvey's homepage, and prices in this market move. For dated price changes across the wider agent market, see the AI agent pricing index, which is checked monthly.
1. Paxton: research and drafting, priced for commitment

Paxton is a research and drafting assistant. As of October 2026 its Individual plan costs $499 per user a month on monthly billing, or $2,999 per user a year on annual billing, and there is a 7-day free trial.
The pricing page lists AI drafting for legal documents, clauses, emails and contracts; a knowledge base of US federal regulations, state laws and case law across all 50 states; and AI file analysis. Paxton's homepage, captured 5 October 2026, pitches it as "AI for Litigation Teams" and promises "drafts grounded in sources you can verify". The lawyer using it still has to do that verifying.
Annual billing cuts Paxton's price roughly in half
$499 a month comes to $5,988 a year per user. $2,999 is a shade over half of that, which is what Paxton's "Save 50%" label says. Use the 7-day trial to decide, then pay annually or not at all: for three lawyers, the difference between the two billing options is $8,967 a year.
Pros
- A 7-day free trial, as of October 2026
- Case law across all 50 states plus federal regulations, per the pricing page
- Drafts emails and contracts as well as legal documents
Cons
- $499 per user a month on monthly billing, the highest published price here
- The cheap route means a $2,999 commitment per seat after one week of trial
- Best for
- A litigator who wants research and first drafts in one place and will commit for a year.
- Pricing
- $499 per user a month, or $2,999 per user a year. As of October 2026.
- Verdict
- Fair value on annual billing. On monthly billing, the most expensive line in this post.
2. StrongSuit: research with a Word integration at $249 a month

StrongSuit's pricing page sits at callidusai.com but is branded StrongSuit. As of October 2026 the Individual plan is $249 a month, with a free trial. It lists a case database of "10M+ federal and state cases", a Microsoft Word integration, and a line I wish every vendor here printed: "Models never trained on user data + SOC 2 Type II". A year of one seat is $2,988, which is $11 under Paxton's annual plan.
The Firm plan is a custom quote, covering multiple licenses and onboarding with StrongSuit attorneys. So the $8,964 in my table is an estimate built from three Individual plans; the Firm quote may come in higher or lower. The Firm plan covers multiple licenses, so three seats may fall under it.
Read the fair-usage clause before you sign
The pricing page says all plans are "subject to our Fair Usage Policy". Ask for the Fair Usage Policy in writing during the trial, so you know what it covers before you rely on it.
3. Briefpoint: discovery and nothing else

Briefpoint does one job. It drafts written discovery: propounding requests for admission, requests for production and interrogatories, and responding to them with objections. The pricing page claims coverage of "All 50 states + 98 federal district courts", plus English and Spanish client translations, and lists SOC 2 Type II and HIPAA.
The Rainmaker Plan costs $150 per attorney a month, billed annually, which is $1,800 a year as of October 2026. It is a flat rate with "No per-case fees" and unlimited document downloads.
A flat fee rewards the busiest litigator
The price ignores case count. A lawyer with a dozen active matters pays the same $1,800 as one with two, so the more discovery the practice produces, the cheaper each set becomes. For a firm whose litigators spend their evenings on interrogatories, that is the whole pitch.
- Best for
- A litigation practice that drafts and answers written discovery every week.
- Pricing
- Rainmaker Plan, $150 per attorney a month billed annually ($1,800 a year). As of October 2026.
- Free trial
- Not stated on the pricing page; the homepage offers Book a Demo.
- Verdict
- The only priced single-purpose tool here, if discovery is where your hours go.
Must read: for the first call and the follow-up that turns a caller into a client, see AI agents for law firm intake.
4. MyCase: the AI comes with the practice software

MyCase is practice-management software: cases, clients, documents and billing in one system. Its AI arrives under the 8am IQ name, and which assistants you get depends on the plan. As of October 2026, per user per month:
- Basic, $50 billed annually or $60 monthly. No AI assistant in the feature list.
- Pro, $100 annually or $120 monthly. Adds the 8am IQ Writing and Document Assistant, client intake forms and legal CRM, and automated workflows.
- Advanced, $130 annually or $150 monthly. Adds the 8am IQ Case Assistant and the 8am IQ Discovery Assistant (OCR).
The trial needs no credit card, and the homepage repeats that under its sign-up box. The same page says you can ask the Case Assistant to summarize a file, build a timeline or surface next steps.
The AI starts on Pro, the middle plan
For three lawyers on annual billing, as of October 2026, Pro is $3,600 a year and Advanced $4,680, the two cheapest rows in my table. On monthly billing Pro becomes 3 x $120 x 12, or $4,320. A firm already on Basic pays $1,800 more a year on annual billing for three people to reach Pro and its writing assistant.
The 8am IQ assistants on the pricing page are for writing, documents, cases and discovery. If cited legal research is the job you are buying for, run Pro's trial alongside StrongSuit's or Paxton's and compare them on the same question.
5. Clio: a price for the practice software, none for the AI workspace

Clio's pricing page says its "plans start at $49 USD per user per month", as of October 2026. That buys Starter, the entry tier of Clio Manage, its practice-management product. The other three plans are Core, Signature and Elite, and Clio describes Core as "AI-first practice management", with AI that drafts bills on schedule. None of those three rendered a price when I read the page, so I am not quoting one.
Clio Work is the legal AI workspace, the part of Clio that sits in the same category as the tools above. The pricing page I read showed no price for it.
The homepage argues for keeping the AI next to the matters
Clio's homepage puts it plainly: "The best legal AI is the one that knows you, your firm, and the law." For a firm already running its matters in Clio Manage, that argument has weight, since the AI would sit beside the documents it needs. For a firm on anything else, ask whether that knowledge depends on moving the firm's matters into Clio.
- Best for
- A firm already running on Clio Manage.
- Pricing
- From $49 per user a month (Starter), as of October 2026. Core, Signature, Elite and Clio Work showed no price.
- Free trial
- Offered on the homepage.
Ask Clio two things before the demo: what Clio Work costs, and whether it needs a Clio Manage plan underneath.
Every tool in this list sells legal work. The admin around it is a separate pile: the weekly client update emails, intake follow-ups, scheduling, chasing unpaid invoices and tracking which contracts are still waiting for a signature. Gravity is not a legal assistant. It does no legal research, cites no cases and drafts no pleadings. That admin pile is the part a Gravity agent can take off a lawyer's plate, next to whichever legal tool the firm picks. AI agents for lawyers and the guide to law firm intake cover it in more depth. Gravity is in private alpha, free to start with no card, and paid plans from $5 a month. Apply to the alpha.
6. Spellbook: contract review inside Word, priced by demo

Spellbook is the contract specialist on this list. It works inside Microsoft Word: reviewing contracts, redlining and drafting clauses. Its pricing page says it is "Trusted by 5,000 legal teams worldwide". That is Spellbook's own figure, and I have no way to check it.
There is no price. The page says pricing is "structured around the number of team members on your license", and that to get personalized pricing you book a demo. There is a 7-day free trial, as of October 2026.
Start the 7-day trial before you book the demo
Seven days is enough to run a handful of templates or documents you are free to share through it. Do that first, so the demo call is about seats and price instead of a product tour. Bring your headcount, because by Spellbook's own description the number of people on the license is what moves the quote.
Must read: if the slow part is who reviews a contract and when it comes back, read an AI agent for the contract review workflow.
7. Harvey: built for large firms, no public price

Harvey publishes no price. When I checked on 5 October 2026, harvey.ai/pricing returned a 404 and the only path on the site was "Request a Demo". The homepage says "The world's top law firms and in-house legal teams trust Harvey with their highest-stakes work", and a banner across the top announced "We Raised $550M at a $15.5B Valuation". Both are Harvey's statements about Harvey.
The homepage copy and the demo-only route both point at large firms and in-house legal teams. For a three-lawyer firm, I would treat Harvey as out of scope until it shows a price and spend the trial weeks on the published tools.
- Best for
- Large law firms and in-house legal departments.
- Pricing
- Not published, as of October 2026.
- Free trial
- Demo only.
A $5,000 lesson in invented case law
On 22 June 2023, Judge P. Kevin Castel of the US District Court for the Southern District of New York sanctioned the lawyers in Mata v. Avianca, Inc., No. 1:22-cv-01461, $5,000 under Rule 11. They had filed a brief citing cases that ChatGPT invented. The docket is public on CourtListener, and AP reported the sanctions.
The case shows the risk legal-specific assistants are built around: citations grounded in a real case database. Paxton describes a knowledge base of case law across all 50 states, and StrongSuit a database of more than 10 million federal and state cases. The pitch is citations drawn from real cases, where a general chatbot can produce one that never existed.
None of that removes the lawyer's job. I have no accuracy figure for any tool here and I will not invent one. Whatever you buy, a lawyer reads every cited case before it goes into a filing.
If you landed here looking for help with your own legal problem: these are tools for lawyers, and they do not replace legal advice from one.
Must read: lawyers are one of the jobs in the index of AI agents for every profession. The closest neighbour to a small law firm is the accounting practice, another firm that bills clients for expert time; AI agents for accountants covers that one.
Which one should you choose?
Start with the job that eats the most hours each week, then pick the kind of tool that does it. All prices below are as of October 2026.
If you already pay for MyCase, check your plan first. On Pro or Advanced the 8am IQ assistants are already in the bill, and the cheapest AI legal assistant is the one already in your bill.
If the job is legal research and first drafts, trial StrongSuit and Paxton side by side. For three lawyers they cost $8,964 and $8,997 a year, so choose on the work, and pay Paxton annually or not at all.
If discovery is where the evenings go, Briefpoint does that one thing for $1,800 per attorney a year, flat. If you draft contracts in Word all day, Spellbook is the specialist; run its trial, then take the demo for a price.
Already running the firm on Clio? Ask what Clio Work costs before you buy a separate tool. A large firm or an in-house team is who Harvey is built for, demo process included.
Whichever you choose, a lawyer still checks every citation, and the client updates and unpaid invoices still need doing. The best AI agents for small business covers that side of running a firm.
FAQ
1. What is an AI legal assistant?
Software that does part of a lawyer's work: answering legal questions with citations, drafting memos and documents, reviewing contracts or preparing discovery. It comes in four kinds: research and drafting tools, contract assistants inside Word, litigation workflow tools, and AI built into practice-management software. Every one of them still needs a lawyer to check what it produces.
2. How much does an AI legal assistant cost?
Published prices for plans that include AI, as of October 2026, run from $100 per user a month (MyCase Pro, billed annually, AI included) to $499 per user a month (Paxton, billed monthly). For three attorneys over a year that is $3,600 to $17,964. Spellbook and Harvey publish no price, and Clio's pricing page showed none for Clio Work.
3. What is the cheapest AI legal assistant for a small law firm?
Among the tools I priced, MyCase Pro at $3,600 a year for three attorneys on annual billing, as of October 2026, with the 8am IQ Writing and Document Assistant included. For cited legal research, StrongSuit's $249 a month per lawyer was the lowest published price. A firm already on MyCase Pro pays nothing extra for its AI.
4. Can a lawyer use ChatGPT as a legal assistant?
A well-known warning is Mata v. Avianca, where a federal judge in New York sanctioned lawyers $5,000 in June 2023 after they filed a brief citing cases ChatGPT had invented. Legal-specific tools exist to ground citations in a real case database. Whatever the tool, the lawyer verifies every cite before it is filed.
5. What does it mean when a legal AI tool has no published price?
You get a number only after a demo or a sales call. Spellbook says its pricing is structured around the number of team members on your license, and Harvey's site offered only a Request a Demo path when I checked on 5 October 2026. A small firm can shortlist from the tools with published prices and run their trials first.
6. Which AI legal assistants work inside Microsoft Word?
Spellbook is built for contract review and drafting in Word. StrongSuit lists a Microsoft Word integration on its pricing page, next to a database of more than 10 million federal and state cases. Both offer a free trial, so check the fit first with templates or documents you are free to share.
7. Does practice-management software include an AI legal assistant?
Some plans do. As of October 2026, MyCase Pro ($100 per user a month, billed annually) includes the 8am IQ Writing and Document Assistant, and Advanced ($130) adds the Case and Discovery assistants. Clio prices its practice software from $49 per user a month, but its pricing page showed no price for Clio Work, its legal AI workspace.
Sources
- Paxton pricing, read 5 October 2026.
- StrongSuit pricing (callidusai.com, branded StrongSuit), read 5 October 2026.
- Briefpoint pricing, read 5 October 2026.
- MyCase pricing, read 5 October 2026.
- Clio pricing, read 5 October 2026.
- Spellbook pricing, read 5 October 2026.
- Harvey homepage, read 5 October 2026; harvey.ai/pricing returned a 404 that day.
- Mata v. Avianca, Inc., No. 1:22-cv-01461 (S.D.N.Y.), docket on CourtListener; sanctions decided 22 June 2023.
- AP News report on the Mata v. Avianca sanctions, 2023.
- Gravity pricing, October 2026.
- Homepage screenshots of all seven vendors, captured 5 October 2026 at 1440 x 900.